I first posted this recipe (from my fave beauty blog, Hello Natural) on Facebook but although I’d made it, I hadn’t fully tested it.

Well, I can now say it has been tested in 35+°C heat in Corsica where I went on hols this July.

Scandola nature reserve, Corsica

Scandola nature reserve, Corsica

And it works.

The recipe uses zinc oxide and raspberry seed oil for the sunscreen part which protects from UVA-B and C. To get an SPF 30, zinc oxide should be 20% of the recipe, say Hello Natural, which is apparently the case here, but I haven’t checked, I take it as true. If you want more protection, add more zinc.

Here’s the recipe + the link to Hello Natural.

P1060218

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup shea butter

1 tsp raspberry seed oil (I got it in France from Aroma Zone)

2 tbsp zinc oxide (idem Aroma Zone)

Melt oils together in a bowl over warm water. Add raspberry seed oil and zinc oxide and stir together.

P1060219Cool in fridge for 30′- 1 hour until solid. Whip 3-5 minutes until you get a frosting-like consistency.

P1060220Transfer to a jar and store in a cool place. Apply liberally.

P1060222

What you need to know:

So, I tested this during my hols.

  1. Be aware the sunscreen is solid in the fridge but will be liquid in summer heat (certainly at 35°C!) so make sure the jar it is in is well-scewed on. I say this ‘cos I didn’t screw the lid on properly one time and the sunscreen leaked all over the place – luckily I’d put it in a plastic bag with my other, shop-bought, sunscreens (for the kids, whilst I road-tested the natural one, not using them as guinea-pigs all the same!) – it was all a bit messy. So keep it in a separate plastic bag in case.
  2. The zinc oxide does mean that you’ll look a bit white but that doesn’t bother me personally. It does have the advantage that you can see where you’re putting the cream and whether you’ve missed any bits (a bit like Nivea’s blue suncream for kids) and if you massage it in really well (good for your legs and arms) it does absorb pretty well all the same. This said I didn’t put it on my face, not wanting to risk looking like a clown (no mirror to check in), but that’s just vanity.
  3. Being based on coconut oil and shea butter, it may leave traces on clothing but then so do all suncreams in my experience. Bonus – leaves your skin in super condition.
  4. It works!! Definitely  no sunburn (and it was very hot out there), but gentle tanning (don’t forget, no sunscreen offers 100% protection). Keep in mind I do not go out in the sun at the hottest part of the day (12-4pm in France) and re-apply every 2 hours. And I always wear a big floppy hat and sunglasses. I didn’t re-apply after swimming, and boy, I was in the water all the time, it was so hot, so I conclude the cream is waterproof (I guess it’s the “oil and water don’t mix” thing, water just seemed to run off me!)

Check out this post from Hello Natural on other ways to get natural sun protection:

http://hellonatural.co/natural-sunscreen/

 

