Yahoo, I’ve just made my first homemade soap, and d’you know what? – it really wasn’t that difficult!

Freshly poured soap - now the waiting starts...

Freshly poured soap – now the waiting starts…

Having said that, I have to wait 24-48 hours to see if the first stage of unmoulding my creations has worked, then another 4 weeks minimum for the soap to harden (it’s the “cure” time), so maybe I’m celebrating too quickly…

I’ve only made a small quantity (in case it all goes horribly wrong) but I shall be posting the recipe and method ASAP.

It’s just a plain soap, no fancy colours or dried flowers or even essential oils in it, but three ingredients: olive oil, babassu oil and of course sodium hydroxide, (also known as  lye, or caustic soda)  – yes, it may be caustic but this is what “saponifies” the oils to make soap.

The three ingredients for my soap

The three ingredients for my soap

So watch this space for the results…

